At My Side

There’s room here at my side.  Amid the diaper bag and the knapsack.  There’s room.  Between the angels and the guides.  Among the papers and the lists.  There’s room.

There’s room here in my heart.  Amid the children and the grandparents.  There’s room.  Between the lovers and the friends.  Among the parents and the departed.  There’s room.

There’s room here in my day.  Amid the naps and the lessons.  There’s room.  Between the writing and the reading.  Among the meals and the toasts.  There’s room.

Because I’ve been there.  I’ve wondered why me.  I’ve questioned.  And the answer is yes.  You are worthy.  You are loved.  You give me as much as I give you.  I need you too.

All I learn is not in vain.  I share it with you.  I discover with you.  I don’t “fit you in”, I welcome you.  I don’t deign to speak to you, I desire it.  I am not bothered, I am blessed.

There is room here at my side.  So let us walk together.  Let us walk knowing we are sisters.  Let us walk knowing we are one. 

This post was written in honour National Mentor Month.

Any woman seeking to find a mentor or be a mentor, please check out http://herfuture.com.

Photo Credit

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

